TPO 02-Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Do you agree or disagree?

Members of a society are valued by their merits and virtues. Among these virtues, telling the truth has a prominent place. When it comes to relationship between our fellow citizens, no one could ever cast doubt on the fact that honesty is one of the most important considerations. But always telling the truth is another story and this is the point where the disagreement stops. Some hold the conviction that people must always be honest, no matter what. In sharp contrast to this view, there are critics who oppose this opinion, claiming that depending on the situation, it would be ok if some lies would be exchanged between people. As far as I am concerned, I think the latter carries more weight. In the following essay, I will try to explain two reasons which I believe are among the most common viewpoints these days.

The first point which is worth mentioning is that sometimes not telling the truth helps us to save our lives or should I say protect ourselves from likely dangers. It seems quite reasonable to be alert when we perceive hazard. Given the fact that the elderly and children are more fragile in comparison to other, it is surprisingly logical that the importance of ignoring one of the most significant factors in relations between members of a community, honesty, as I said above, is to be revealed more especially. As an illustration, my friend's grandmother is willing to tell lie about her loneliness when is being asked if she lives alone in her home. No need to mention that she might be afraid of being robbed or harmed in some way. This reason totally justifies her action. As a result, there might be occasions in which not telling the truth looks like a safety factor that contributes to being survived.

Another point needs to be made is that in some situations not being honest would be conceived to help others. How paradoxical that telling lies serve a positive function! For instance, just imagine you are a physician. To promote your patient's health and keep him confident, you need not to tell him about his diagnosis. Otherwise, he would lose his self-confidence which might lead to a worse condition that may even result in his termination. So, you consciously choose to not be honest with him in that you feel responsibility towards your patients.

In a nutshell, people, trapped in situations, occasionally perceive the need of not being honest and this necessity forces them to do so. I think that we can justify these situations. Life is so complicated so that we cannot assert a fact even regarded as a code of ethics is abstractly true. In other words, analyzing even moral values should be considered within a context.