TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, people have been concerned about choosing and making friends. This issue has been an inevitable part of an individual's life. The advent of technology has provided an opportunity for this pervasive anxiety to culminate owing to the fact that modern life is more complicated than it used to be and making friends becomes harder. In this regard, there is a prevailing controversy amongst people that it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. Personally speaking, I am in favor of this statement. I assert my view for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first aspect to be mentioned is the value of friendship. When someone is in a long-term relationship that indicates the fact that he owes a valuable treasure called real friendship. To be more specific, old friendships are more valuable owing to the fact that when people are friends with each other for a long time that determines they care about each other a lot and in addition that indicates they know each other; hence they certainly have less conflict with each other due to the fact that they are similar in certain ways. On the other hand, newborn relationships cannot be considered as valuable ones because people involving in this kind of relationship do not care about each other and they do not share any attributes. To convey my notion, let me take a personal example. I have many old friends. Nevertheless, I am a very friendly person and I am able to make new friends with no efforts but I prefer to stay in touch with my old friends rather than spending time with my new friends because I know they care more about me and I am more being loved by them.

Apart from the point discussed above, let assess this statement from the standpoint of the concept of the comfort zone. Researchers have been shown staying in the same position and not be exposed to new circumstances is more promising for people. In other words, people are more comfortable staying in old condition than experiencing new ones. It can be credit for friendships too. People are more willing to be in the same relationship than being exposed to new people. This concept strongly indicates the importance of keeping old friends. Having old friends is less challenging than making new friends for many people. To put this in a more vivid picture, take a child as an example. Imagine his parents have moved to a new city and he lost all of his old friends, it would be hard for him to get out of his comfort zone and become friend with new people in that town. This example could be a practical one due to the fact that many people have experienced it and have witnessed the conflict between the child and his parents about moving to a new environment.

All in all, according to the aforementioned points and examples, the value and ease of having old friends have been settled. However, there is an opposing viewpoint that it is more important to make new friends than keeping old friends but having old friends is not merely more precious but it is also more promising for many people; therefore, I am willing to conclude that it is more important for one to keep his old friends than trying to make new friends.