TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the serious issues human benings are now facing is pollution and environmental problems. Some believe that there will be more cars in twenty years later. Others, on the other hand, have the oposite viewpoint, believing that there will be fewer automibles in the streets in the near future. I am of the latter openion, supporting that because of the effect of technology and the associated environmental issues.

To start with, technology has resulted in producing advanced automobiles and airplanes, and online communication softwares which has been reduced the number of cars required since 50 years ago. Nowadays, there are an increase trend in using airplanes as a means of transport. Even for short distances such as 200 killometers, people prefer to commute by airplane compared the lenghty use of cars. Moving by airplane is more comfortable and time-saving compared to automobiles. Furthermore, Internet and advanced online communication softwares, such as Skype, have eased communication and have caused a reduction of unnecessary face-to-face meetings. This has gone a long way towards reduction of automobiles in streets. The trend which will be continued for twenty years laters. Another important factor, is a change in the style of jobs in the future compared to now. In twenty years, it is estimated that most of jobs will be done online and it is not required for the employees to be present at their workplace. Instead, they will enjoy sitting in their cossy houses and perform their work by their laptops. This trend currently can also be seen in some field such as survey engineers who designed their plan at their home. As all these explanations shows, technology will contribute to a decrease in number of cars in street in the near future.

In addition, our beautiful Earth is now facing some environmental issues which one of the solutions will be reducing number of cars. According to the scientific researches, one of the elements has contributed to the global warming is methane which is the emmission gas from cars. The global warming has caused an increase in oceans' temperature and the globe which will melt the polar ices and consequently will cause the catastrophic events such as flooding, saunami and having unresistance hot temperatures. Therefore, governments want to enforce more restrictions on using private cars and would encourage people to commute by public transportations. Through subsidies and providing free or very cheap public transportaion, citizens are convinced to use buses to reduce their carbon foot print which will reduce the particulate matters. This policy will go a long way towards reducing the number of cars, resulting a reduction of air pollution in the future. Accordingly, there was an internation seminar in Paris in 2015 where all of political leader were gathered to address the global warming issue. This kind of meeting will help towards reducing number of private cars.

In conclusion, I personally think that in twenty years there will be fewer private vehicles and more public transport systems attributed to the advance technology and environmental problems. Internet and online communication programs will decrease the cars in the streets. This trend will be encouraged by governments by funding public transpot systems.