In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels health and fitness is decreasing.What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The proportion of overweight people has been increasing nowadays. This would lead to having unhealthy and unfit people which would suffer from the associated disease like diabetes and heart attacks. I believe that the increase in obesity is mainly because of our sedentary lifestyle which needs to be addressed before reaching to serious conditions for an individual and a government as a whole.

The number of obese people, especially those in developed countries, has increased because of their inactive lifestyle and consumption of fast food. Take Australia as an example. Full-time employees are required to work 40 hours per week, most of which are behind desk. Employees often work overtime to meet the deadlines, causing them to sacrifice their leisure time. Consequently, a fewer number of people would go to gym to exercise. Another issue is attributed to the ubiquity of fast food restaurants, such as McDonald’s and KFC, inducing people to dine in them instead of eating healthy food. Therefore, it can be seen that more people have become unfit and the number of associated healthy issues has increased.

Modern people should consider appropriate amount of exercises and sport activities in their timetable if they like to become fitter and healthier. One practical solution would be regular walking for instance 30 minutes per day. Instead of using private cars, use bicycle for their commuting. Moreover, consuming home-made food instead of fast food would result in less fat and fitter body.

In conclusion, the inactive lifestyle of modern people and using convenience food are held the responsible for the raise in obesity which can be addressed by doing exercises and eating healthy food and vegetables.