TPO 06 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, people can get anything they want easier than before. This makes life more comfortable for us than our grandparents. I can give several reasons why, the first one is technology and the second one is science. Although no one can think of technology and science as separate subjects, both can contribute differently to our lives.

First of all, technological developments shorten the time of actions that our grandparents were doing for the same thing. For example, communication, it was very hard to send a letter to loved ones. However, since smartphones dominate society, everybody has one, and one person can contact anyone on earth in seconds. Moreover, thanks to the development of the internet, we can obtain any information within seconds on the internet. Whereas, our parents had to dig into the library and seek for the correct encyclopedia to find the information of interest. On the other hand, for example, I am a researcher, and I can find lots of recent developments in my area in the same breadth I type in search engines, such as Google. Therefore, I believe that I am more comfortable with my life since I can contact or get information immediately thanks to technology.

Secondly, science has been improved since the last century. Indeed, medicine is one of the areas that can be concerned. For instance, in the late 90s, a drug was developed to repress the effect of the HIV-virus, so that infected people could live as comfortably as uninfected ones. Unfortunately, our grandparents lived in the period when medicine hasn’t been inclined this much. Right now, there are a lot of treatments, with their alternatives, for lots of diseases. In addition, engineering has been developed thanks to physical science. If it wasn’t for physics, engineers wouldn’t build huge factories to provide supply chains, which indirectly helps us to produce lots of products in a short time. On the other hand, our grandparents had to produce one shoe in a day, which is a long time period considering an average factory today produces dozens of shoes. Hence, developments in science brought comfort to our lives.