TPO 06 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people claim that our grandparents’ lives were easier when they were children because they didn’t have to stress about school or live in an ultra-competitive environment. However, in my opinion, I believe that life today is much easier for the following three reasons.

First of all, life today is much simpler than in the past when our grandparents were children because we have significantly more luxury products. For example, it is not uncommon for a child in today’s world to have an extremely comfortable and luxurious bed that they sleep on each night. In contrast, most of our grandparents, mine included, slept on hard concrete. Undoubtedly, luxury items make our lives more comfortable and easier. In the past, these luxury products were limited to only the very rich, meaning that the vast majority of people have to go through life suffering. But today a kid can enjoy luxury items that were not available even to kings in the past.

Secondly, children in modern times have more comfortable lives due to their increased access to technology. For instance, kids these days often have cell phones, iPads, computers, and electronic bicycles. Our grandparents only had sticks and dirt to play with. With technology, kids do not have to engage in strenuous labor or worry about tedious tasks that have to be completed.

Finally, today kindergarten schools are more friendly and entertaining with children than they were before when grandparents were children. For example, today almost every kindergarten has a playground and playing instruments for children. Currently available resources for kindergarten children helps them easily learn things and studying has become more fun than it was before. Our grandparents used to have their pre-schooling at home and didn't have any fun activities while studying. They didn't enjoy studying that much.

In conclusion, while our grandparents enjoyed some benefits as children, the above three reasons clearly show that life today is much easier than life in the past.