TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The majority of people who are in their early to mid-twenties think that learning facts is more important for student than understanding ideas and concepts. They support that facts are the basis of concept development. However, the notion does not the stance that I hold and should not be thought about in a different light. I believe that understanding ideas and concepts are more important for student because as understand ideas and concepts, the memory of that concept is long-lasted and also it could be applied to another application.

First of all, people are able to recall the ideas and concepts they learnt for a long time. To be specific, while the facts learnt are unlikely to remember or recall itself from people’s memory, the idea and concepts through understanding are easy to remember and recall itself because it has strong connection on people’s brain, even though it is difficult to understand its idea and concept. With strong understanding of concept, people are able to step up advanced beyond them. For example, I am a programmer at software department of Samsung electronics Corporation. In my career, a number of projects have done by our team such as Samsung pay and database system construction. Almost projects were used with ideas and concepts from what I learnt under Artificial Intelligent professor twenty years ago. These concepts are recalled even many time is passed. Thus, this proves that more important thing than to learn facts is to understand ideas and concepts for students because it lasts for a long-time.

Moreover, based on ideas and concepts, people are capable to apply these into other application. In addition, many applications are made by advanced concepts and ideas from what people have learnt before. Most concepts are the basis of what the products constructed and every thesis suggested have also based on concepts, not facts. Utilizing the ideas and concepts has impacted on a wide range of areas in today’s globalized world. For instance, Steve Jobs, who is the founder of Apple, made great accomplishments in his lifetime. I read online that he was successfully regarded from people in the world because when he designed I-phone and I-pad, ideas and concepts impacted on the mobile area. He did this by fully understanding about concepts and ideas what he learnt before from his university. Hence, this shows that more important thing for student is to understand the ideas and concepts because it makes students to apply these concepts to other application whatever they plan.

To sum up, I believe that understanding the ideas and concepts is more important for student than learning facts. This is because it is long-lasting and could be applied into other applications. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above.