TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I certainly agree that it is more prominent for students to comprehend ideas and concepts. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The explanations go as follows.

Firstly, it would be very easy for students to memorize ideas and concepts for a long time. These days, the students ought to study hard enough to understand the topics. Sometimes, remembering dozens of rules and formulas for a long time would be very problematic. But learning the main ideas behind those statements can be a key factor to make simple this process. For instance, students can remember periodic table for three or at most six months. But it is more reasonable and feasible for students to learn how elements are arranged based on the atomic numbers in different rows and columns.

Furthermore, learning ideas and concepts can aid and abet students to be more creative. Nowadays, all adults perfectly know that the classic education, which forces children to learn facts, is not efficient and practical any more. Based on a research, which has been carried out by Psychology Department of Utah University in 2016, the students who grasp the main concepts are 60% more prone to be flourish and productive not only in their education but also in their future life and responsibilities. In fact, all ideas are interconnected like a chain or branches of a tree, and hence learning one of them can contribute students to see all hidden aspects and discover some new ways.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by one who argues that it is more crucial for pupils to learn facts. Chiefly, it can help students to pass a class exam. Indeed, final exam mainly is about the facts that are provided in the books. So it is more essential for students to focus and concentrate on them. However, still I affirm that learning ideas is more profitable. Although by studying facts students can possibly pass the exam, these facts cannot grantee a good grade. Plus, teachers now are more aware to assess students’ understanding from concepts and prevent from any rote learning.

Due to the aforementioned ground, all folk should bear in mind that learning ideas and concepts are more beneficial. Participation of time and creativity are two prime and conspicuous supports.