TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is a constant process which continues through an individual's life. I strongly believe that it is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn the facts. Learning the facts can help students to perform well in the academics, but it doesn't help them achieve their career goals.

It is obvious that learning the facts provides the knowledge which remains for short time in a students memory. On the other , if students understand the ideas and concepts, he does not need to memorize the facts. In fact, he is capable of concluding the facts based on implication of the concepts learned. Understanding the concepts, further helps the students to take part in intellectual discussions. This in turn, help in overall development and increase in confidence of the student.

I know many of my classmates who used to excel academically. But today those who used to perform average in class are more successful then the toppers of the class. On approaching them personally, I could understand the students who only tries to memorize the facts are unable to cope up with stress they face afterwards when they are exposed to huge crowd of competitive world. In fact , few of them performed below the expectations as they get depressed since they couldn't learn the strategies to deal with the stress.

It is further seen that low academic performance affects your family and social life. The students who are not able to successful in their careers due bad habits of mugging up the facts are generally frustrated and limits socializing with other people due to low self-esteem.

To conclude, I can say that for any student to develop necessary skills and gain expertise in their, they must make the habit of understanding the ideas and concepts rather then simply learning the facts.