TPO 1-1

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

By and large, universities and colleges are the second house of students, they spend most of their time in these places. They find friends and share their experiences with them. They attempt to find their friends according to the common activities that they like to do for instance, in the sport, social activities or in the library. With this in mind, it is expected to notice that universities and colleges should make proper situations for students to find their friends. A plethora of people wonders, how the universities and colleges should divide the financial budget between classes or libraries and sports or social activities. A rather reoccurring idea states that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. I concur with this idea, in what follows, two reasons will be investigated in support this idea.

Initially, sport and social activities are important for mental improvement of students. They need these activities for improving their mind and get more energy for continuing their projects. The brain will be bored after reading theories and calculating mathematics problems, so the students should take part in some activities to improve their brain. According to the recent research done at Tehran University, about 75 % of top students in various fields participate in sport and social activities, they have a more active brain than students who do not participate in any activities. The educational goal will be improved by providing better social and sport activities situations.

Second, sport and social activities are necessary for the physical improvement of students. Most of the student after two or three years have physical problems such as neck ache, they spend more than 8 hours behind the desk at a constant position and this plan for two or three years will be a reason for physical illness. They should spend 2-3 hours on sports activities such as swimming, running or volleyball in order to reduce the risk of physical illness. If students do not care about their health, they will not be succeed in their educational activities. For example, I had a bad headache during study last year. I went to the hospital and stayed there for one week, the doctor said me, the problem has occurred because I did not participate in any sports activities, so I lost some courses when I was in the hospital.

In conclusion, not only the social and sports activities are important for mental improvement of students but also it is crucial for physical improvement. They can do these activities in order to improve their education. Therefore, the universities and colleges should spend money on sport and social activities as equal as classes and libraries.