TPO 10- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the abundance of computer games available and accessible for children is a fact that cannot be denied. The idea of spending time playing those games is waste arises the idea of forbidding, not allowing, playing them. While there are enormous skills can be acquired from some computer games, in spite of a few negative effects, I personally disagree to forbid those games, and I don't think that playing them is a waste of time. In this passage, I will provide some of my points of views.

Firstly, children can acquire a wider perspective toward the unknown world, where they won't be able to visit in their entire lives, by playing an intelligently designed video game. Video games, thanks to today's high graphical interfaces, includes maps of big well-known cities that children can, virtually, walk place to place and witness the life in there. The imagination is also a big contribution of video games to children's lives. In fact, children like to imagine by previously seen games that talented design of combination of stories and landscapes. Therefore, playing computer games gives children the opportunity to have wider perspective by experiencing the unknowns.

Secondly, playing video games requires improved social skills, as well as, it provides making new friends around the world. Almost every online games employ chatting with other players, children can benefit foreign friends who live in a totally different culture. Children can not only improve foreign language skills but also experience how a native speaker would use a specific phrase in a specific situation. Furthermore, as multiple player playing would best with group work, players must have contact with each other and should have a division of labor which is a crucial consideration in society. Consequently, children can acquire important language and social skills by playing computer games.

Thirdly, some games may provide practicing advanced engineering knowledge to their players, such as Minecraft. Minecraft is an open-world game which build-up blocks, in the fact that block concept improves the ability to understand the objects by knowing their essential pieces. Children can build their houses and can understand the basic requirements of the objects, such as windows and ceiling, for example, windows needed to burn a sand block in an oven crafted by stones. Fortunately, the red stone blocks work as an electrical wire in the game, by an engineering knowledge of logic gates, children can design even a basic computer. My brother, as an example, had built a calculator in base 2, at the age of 12, with its screen to represent base 2 calculation in base 10.

In conclusion, although the playing computer game is considered as a waste of time, and should not be allowed, in my humble opinion, I think the opposite of the idea and support the fact that encouraging playing well-designed games is important. They will give the chance children to visit well known big cities and enlarge their imagination world. Additionally, online video games provide a medium to socialize and gain language skills. Lastly, future engineers would have confronted earlier in some practices of engineering knowledge thanks to Minecraft.