TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the technology advances, its impacts in our life is getting stronger. There are several aspects that are inevitable to avoid. one of those is gaming, computer games have gained a great popularity in recent years, however there are various and opposing reactions to the popularity of the games especially among children. There are enough number of people who do think that playing computer game is a waste of time. I strongly believe that children should be allowed to play computer games. I support playing computer games because of two main reasons that are explained detailed in the passages below. First of all, computer games can play a role in the development of children and secondly, playing computer games is a good way to spend spare time as it helps children to avoid bad habits.

One of the positive impacts of playing computer is the role it plays in the development of children. According to the recent research of Azerbaijani Neurologist Association, playing visual games improve creativity and innovative thinking. Creativity and innovative thinking are important features in order to succeed in any field, thus through playing computer games, children can acquire those skills since early ages. Beside these, as there are some games which require decision making, it can help children to improve their decision making, to learn how to make decisions independently. It would help children to stay on their own feet better in the future. Apart from these, there are some intellectual computer games which are especially dedicated to children. There are various types of games according to each age group. For example, my nephew who is 3 years old, he learned the names of animals and the places where they usually live through the computer games.

The second reason, why I assume that computer games does not cause to the waste of time, on the contrary, it causes children to avoid bad habits. For example, when we were child, we did not have an internet, at least, not many people knew about it, I remember my friends complaining about having less activities to do, except playing football which made us tired after playing for a while, as some of them already fed up with it, they used various methods to make their lives more excited and some of them gained bad habits such as smoking, stealing, teasing, they assumed that it gave them an excitement and freshness. However, nowadays, children try to play computer games when they have time, it helps them to satisfy with their free time activities alongside with helping to avoid bad habits.

All in all, it is important to note that playing computer games is not a waste of time, in contrast, children can benefit from playing computer games, as it can contribute to their self-development and to avoid harmful activities to make their free time more interesting and exciting.