TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that today's children dedicate most time for playing video games than a generation ago. The playing games can sometimes have detrimental effects on children such as causing aggressive behavior, however, there are also several advantages. In my perspective, the benefits of playing computer games outweigh its disadvantages and I disagree with the stance that computer games waste children’s time. I will discuss the reasons behind this viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first reason that immediately come s to mind is that playing computer games strengthen children's problem solving ability. In fact, subjects of most computer games are strategic, which means that players should find new and innovative ways in order to solve the games’ problems. When children play these kinds of games, they will use several techniques and methods to terminate each stages of a game. This is also true for the problems in the school textbook, as they need to resolve many problems at classes. By playing and involving in computer games, it is likely that children will be able to propose several solutions to the textbooks' problems. Therefore, one of benefit of playing games is developing problems solving skill.

The second and important reason that support my standpoint is that computer games decrease juvenile delinquency. Indeed, when children spend their time in playing games, they will not go out. Children did not spend time with people who are bad people. Instead, children merely stay alone at home and play games with their own friends through the Internet. Additionally, they do not serve in the Internet which has negative influence on them such as learning immoral behavior by watching immoral movies. So, as you can see, playing games will help decline of juvenile delinquency.

Last but not least, video games allow children to communicate with other. Children during the games relate with their friends by talking about events happing in the games or discussing about class materials. Children write a comment in the middle of games to their friends regarding how they play. All of the aforementioned tasks give a chance for children to interact with other people, which, in turn, is beneficial for their communication competency. Children can increase their ability to relate with people, as they should talk politely and effectively with their friends. Hence, another advantage of playing video games is communication with people.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that playing computer games is not a waste of time, rather it provides several benefits such as extending problem solving skill and allowing them to interact with others as well as decreasing juvenile delinquency.