TPO 12 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weight pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Some people believe that it is beneficial to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects rather to specialize in one specific subject. In my humble opinion, I think it is better to specialize in one subject. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the majority of individuals would agree to the notion that specialization in one field of study is favorable and will reap numerous advantages. Moreover, focusing your time and effort in one specific subject is a good way because you gain more knowledge and in depth analysis of the topic. For example, I excel in science when I was in high school and that gives me an Idea what course I would take up in college. Later on, I enrolled in Nursing school and really enjoyed my 4 year course because I loved the science behind it. Long story short, I became a proficient nurse because I devoted myself in one specific course and because I love studying science I got high grades in college and become Suma Cumlaude in Class. All in all, having a specialization is actually a good thing because it will prepare you in the future and in your career.

Secondly, people who are in between academic subjects will be having hard time deciding what is best for them in the future. Yes, it is important to acquire broad knowledge in all your academic subjects, but not all is vital in order to be successful in life. Subjects like Philosophy and history will not be important if your chosen career will not be aligned to theses subjects. You will not tell your boss the history of your home country if your work is a carpenter or an engineer. My point is you will be wasting your precious time studying all these subjects but you will not use it your practical life. For instance, my friend Mike who major in Music conservatory. He studied all the curriculum in High school, but when he entered college some subjects are not needed at all. The focus of their study was all with regards to Music, composition of music and melody arrangement. All his efforts did not pay off in high school because he did not use it in his career now.

To summarize this, I firmly believed that specialization is better than having broad knowledge in many academic subjects. This is because giving your whole attention to one specific course can provide you with the in depth knowledge in that filed.