TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is integral part of society, its molds the personality, attitude and social skills of their children. There is no shortage of debate whether extended family is less important today than it was in the past. In my opinion, I don't agree that it is less important to have extended family in this generation, thus, strong family ties have advantageous effects on each family member. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, Strong family ties are important aspects in growing up. In addition, growing up in an extended family provides each childhood more memorable, In a sense, that good values and conduct will be taught to you by your uncle, grandparents or aunts. Moreover, relatives will guide you in every decisions and difficulties in life you stumble upon. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My grandparents live with us, since I was born she was at my side molding me to become a good individual, thus, her patience with me paid off I become good citizen through her guidance and nourishment. For this reason, I believe it is important to have strong family ties, due, to relatives can guide you to become a better person.

Secondly, extended family serves as your emotional blanket, hence, they are always there to support in times of emotional and financial problem. Moreover, relatives are easy to reach in case of emergency, so, when situation comes they will be there immediately. For instance, there was fire in our subdivision, my uncle rapidly called our home to tell us that the fire was couple of blocks from our house, without my uncle quick thinking and help our home could been engulfed with flames. My uncle helped us to get important documents and clothes to bring at my sister's house, luckily we survived and no one get hurt. Accordingly, I think it is essential to have extended family because family would always be there for you in times of need.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is beneficial to to have extended family in this generation. This is because living with relatives will help you to become better people, they will guide you to be on the right path and always there for the family in times of difficult situation.