Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is the most important part of a society and plays an important role in individual life. However, a plethora of people contents that extended family plays a vital role in the past but others disagree with the statement. Not surprisingly, the number of controversies over this issue is overwhelmed. Among this controversy, I personally believe that extended family are breaking and less important than the past. I feel this way for several reasons I will expound in the subsequent followings.

To commence with, the decline of an extended family because of the urbanization. People transfer from the village to the city for surviving. As a result, they live farther from the home and spends the most time with their friends. But, in the past society depends on agriculture and people lives near the house and can spend most of the time with the family members like grandparents, cousins, uncles. They also depend on each other and also connected emotionally. But, it is not possible in present days and so extended family is less important for the people. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a child we lived with grandparents with uncles and aunts and deeply connected with each other. After my grandparents died, my uncles moved to the city and we also moved to another city and sometimes we met once a year. Even we are not so connected like we in the past. Therefore, distance makes an extended family less important.

Furthermore, present days life is so complex and expense also high which is difficult to afford in an extended family. Most of the family in present days are only take care of their children. But, in the past, earning money spent on the whole family because the financial expense was not high. For instance, I heard from my grandparents that when they were young they brought a dress only 2 dollars but not the price is so high that difficult to afford this kind of dress. Moreover, sometimes my father faced difficulty to afford only own's family. Then how he can manage the whole extended family with this salary. Thus, he thinks that taking care of his responsibility is the first option than other members.

To recapitulate, I am on the opinion that the present days extended family is really unimportant than the past because of increasing modern life and difficult to afford the expense.