Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history the family has played a prominent role in all societies. Some people may hold the view that gone are the days when individuals prefer to have extended families. On the other hand, some disagree. Depending on the personality type, personal experiences, and emotional concerns, people have various attitudes toward this issue. I, personally, think that nowadays the importance of extended family has been declined. I hold this viewpoint because trend of people's life has been changed and also people are more inclined to their friends rather than their relatives.

Firstly, it goes without saying that people's life is more different from the past generation. In the past there was not such complex way of life. Take communication as an example. People now can readily have contact with each other, while it was more inconvenient in the past. They used their smartphones to send their messages. With this in mind, extended family is going to be less important because people can create numerous contacts with their peers, co-workers and anybody else. In the past, because of the lack of such opportunities in connection, individuals wanted to have big families to share their ideas and have fun times.

Secondly, today's community members are more inclined to their friends. They spend most of their time at work or school with their friends in comparison to their families. In the past, people in the extended families used to have parties or other ritual ceremonies together. On the other hand, individuals, especially the young, prefer to participate in their peers' parties. A noteworthy statistics, which are revealed by a social study, show that the number of extended families in our country are going to decrease because of changing trend in the people's mind. In their opinion, they are more intimate with their friends rather than grandparents, cousins, and aunt.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that extended families have lost their position in people's minds, and friends are replacing them. Ease of communication and being with friends are two majors that have changed this trend.