TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, any one wants to should have a solid scientific background to able to cope with the fierce competition for getting a lucrative job. I disagree with the statement that it is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following lines.

To begin with, with so many competitions and many areas of study it is sound decision to specialize in one field of the science. The more specialized, the less competition and the higher the chances of getting a prestigious job. To be able to climb the ladder of success so quickly, you have to show a unique ability of accomplishing tasks that only very few people are able to do it effectively. For instance, if a company published an advertisement asking for hiring those who have general knowledge of information technology, you will probably find thousands of young people who are will to go for this job. On the other hand, if the same institution wanted to hire a professional in Nano- technology application in the some specific medical area, guess what?!. Your conclusion is right because a very limited number will apply for this job, and your chances to win this prominent job is higher than in the first case.

What is more, if you specialized, you can use your time more effectively, which in turn means that you can study and progress more rapidly in your academic career than if you were distracted with many subjects to study. We have to take into account that many educational institutions has certain requirements that could have no real value in your specialization, in the real world.For instance, I don't understand why some colleges teaches you some courses that really irrelevant to your job. For instance, in some universities in Egypt, you have to study the principles of administration, while your major is physics. Some may argue that any field will need to practice some administration jobs in the future, however, it is unlikely to happen in the short run. Therefore, it is better to focus on the core of this specialization which will help him or her to master his profession. Surely, anyone can study additional courses in the future when needed, but at the beginning of our career, we should be more focused and to the point.

To sum up, I believe that in this modern world, it is be better to concentrate on one field of study. This will give your better chances of polishing your abilities to get better job, or better academic career.