TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A prosperous future life and career is what every student dreams of. Contemplating about different paths of reaching their dream job some students might choose to specialize in one major in a goal of achieving a profound knowledge, however, another group of students might select to have a broader knowledge on different subjects. As far as I am concerned, I would prefer the second path. Many substantiated reasons go as follows.

To begin with, having a broad knowledge gives students a chance to find their real interest major area to choose as their future career. By taking one or two class in every subject, students can analyze which major attracts them the best. There are many people, who thought they would know what they like as their future job, regretted the path that they have chosen once it was too late for them and after they

have spent a tremendous amount of money and time.

Another significant aspect that should be taken into consideration is that with a broader spectrum of knowledge, people have rather profound understanding about their environment and society that they are living in. For instance, a medical student should know how to work with the new technologies and some simple applications like Microsoft Word and Spread Sheets for writing research or just analyzing

some simple data. Furthermore, almost everybody should have a simple knowledge about economics or accountings, as well as sociology, politics and history to be fitted in this rapidly changing world. To illustrate it, every individual should have an economic plan and know how to invest their earnings for a brighter future. Consequently, his economics knowledge comes into play. Moreover, every citizen should be aware of the political aspects and situations of their country to take steps and actions for the prosperity of their country, and so forth.

As a final point, I firmly believe that students who choose to broaden their knowledge will have a stronger self-confidence. Owing to the fact that they find themselves knowledgeable in various areas. They can interact with different people and have a rather extended network, as opposed to always interact with same people and talking about the same things. Furthermore, this monotonous life-style can lead to depression and boredom.

all in all, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, I suggest that a broad knowledge of many subjects is advantageous for people. They have a higher chance for finding their dream job and better understanding of the world that they live in.