TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Academic subjects are very important part of students' lives. Students learn academic subjects by attending schools or colleges. Some would think that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject; others would disagree. In my view, it is better to specialize in one specific subject than to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects for two important reasons.

The main reason is that you can learn more. When you study one specific subject, you can get depth knowledge or ideas about a particular topic. That way, you can learn more ideas and views of specific subject. For example, when I was in pharmacy school in India, I was in third year. I liked pharmacology subject. I knew other subjects well, but pharmacology subject was my favorite. I used to get high scores in every exam of pharmacology. That's why, I had decided to do my research work on anticancer drugs. During my research work, I read many books and articles on the topic. Also, I found out blogs online about pharmacological actions, drug interactions, and side effects of anticancer drugs. I increased my knowledge on that topic and also got depth knowledge about contraindications and uses of anticancer drugs. It was helpful to get high scores on my subject and I easily got accepted for master program. On the other hand, if I did select many academic subjects for my research work, I wouldn't be able to get depth knowledge because that's only about basic ideas and concepts. This example taught me that it is beneficial for us to specialize in one particular subject.

Another reason is that you can solve problems quickly. If you learn many academic subjects to get broad knowledge, you can have only general concepts about many subjects. This way, you can not find proper solutions for your problems. For instance, when my brother was working in a pharmaceutical company in India, he was working in a tablet production department as a junior scientist. He had broad knowledge about many academic subjects. He didn't focus on a particular subject when he was in college. One day, there was a problem in chemical reactions of two drugs in the production department. My brother was in charge of the department. He tried to find out solutions from his knowledge, but he couldn't. Then he talked to his colleagues about it. one of his colleagues had a huge knowledge about chemical interactions because he studied a specific subject for many years and got experiences. His colleague suggested two solutions for the problem and my brother applied it. Finally, he achieved desire results. My brother knew realized mistakes and got an idea about specialize in one particular subject. As I learned from this experience, it is necessary to specialize in one specific subject.

In sum, though some may oppose the plan, I strongly agree that it is better to specialize in one specific subject than to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects. Not only it helps to get depth knowledge but also helps to solve queries. Every person should specialize in one particular subject in life.