TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans are a social creature and can not live alone in society. However, iving in a world that is developing with remarkable speed, people have less time to share with their families. Also, with the economic boom, it is not uncommon for young people to live far from their parents and other relatives, which is an inevitable trend in higher level of social mobility. Whilst it seems that living in an extended family is unnecessary and even impossible at present, I would like to suggest that the importance of the extended family has not faded.

First and foremost, being together with other relatives strengthens the concept of family. Although members in a big family may live in different parts of the world, and they are distant related to each other, they still have common ancestors and inherits the same family traditions. Hence, they can find many common points between each other and collectively remember the older generations and celebrate the unique spirits in their family.

Secondly, family members makes people less lonely in society. Ironically, as the world is becoming increasingly connected thanks to the advent of technologies, people are feeling more isolated. The Internet and computers have taken up the time for face-to-face communication and interaction. It is also more difficult to find reliable friends as competition in society is so fierce that every one is working hard for their own sake. On the contrary, in a family, people are brothers and sisters to each other, there is no fight for realistic benefits in a family and members are willing to build an intimate relationship. When they are together with their families, people feel secure and a sense of belonging.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who argues that the extended family is no longer important, since today people do not need the help from other family members in order to survive. In the past, for instance, people need to grow food and manufacture living materials together. Nonetheless, still I affirm that relatives are always ready to offer a hand when others in the family are in need. Without their generous help, people can hardly get through the difficult times in their life with ease.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I do not believe that the significance of the extended family has been smaller today than in the past.