TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As school life consists of a considerably large part of children's daily life, teachers and friends are most likely to exert influence on them. There are something that everyone can take into consideration to investigate the level of influence from teachers and friends. Some might contend that teachers play a more important role in the growth of children as they bring about knowledge and act as role models for youngsters. However, I would like to suggest that friends have a larger impact on students.

First and foremost, being at the same age, students have a lot in common, which makes them more impressionable to each other. For instance, a student may be good at drawing and show some of his or her paintings to one of the friends. Enthralled by these lovely paintings, the friend of that student is likely to be deeply affected and motivated to learn it as well, believing that it is not impossible for a student at his or her age to do well. On the contrary, though teachers can provide formal guide to students on painting, they are not as encouraging as friends.

Secondly, friends are more approachable to students compared to teachers. It is not uncommon for friends to talk about almost any topic to each other, from study, life to games, for instance. If students have some thoughts or problems that they are not willing to talk to adults, they would absolutely turn to their friends for help. When discussing solutions of these problems and questions, students pick up their friend' way of thinking and doing things, unconsciously putting themselves under the impact of their friends.

Last, an additional argument comes to mind is that teachers do not understand each child as thoroughly as their friends do, for a teacher need to pay attention to a large group of children, whilst a student only have a few close friends. Therefore, the help or guidance offered by the teacher might be too general and not applicable to a certain student. It is also difficult for teachers to talk to students intimately, restricting the influence teachers have on students.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that students are more affected by their friends than by their teachers.