TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world is a vast, diverse place, but the people who inhabit it make it even more diverse. Arguably, getting to know a new culture is the thing that can change how one person sees the world. So, I think it is reasonable to conclude that the more we know different societies the more we learn about the world, and we should prioritize this knowledge over traveling inside our own country.

First, if we go to a foreign country, we will get to see how different life can be just because of the culture. We often think that our lives are fixated by the circumstances in the environment, maybe if we live in a town that relies on farming we can think it is natural that our diet is mostly pork, but in a different society, people might not eat pork just because their culture forbids it. Visiting other nations can make us realize how culture impacts our daily lives.

Moreover, people can appreciate a true change of scenery in other countries. Going abroad will make anyone see different landscapes, wildlife or even politics, on the other hand, if we stay in our nation we will just get more of the same. Often people fall into Xenophobia, we fear to receive refugees just because we can empathize with them, we cannot be in their shoes if we do not get to know them. Accordingly, I think that making a change in scenery can make us more empathetic towards other people.

In conclusion, for all of the points drawn above, I think that is considerably more important to travel to foreign countries than inside of our owns. Knowing other cultures can make us see the world with other eyes, and to look at people differently. Personal growth must be our most important goal.