TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

The economy is advancing enormously these days, and finances are crucial in everyone’s lives. Now concerning the given statement, should children learn how to manage their own money at a young age in order to become responsible adults? Some people believe children should just worry about their homework, and focus just on school matters. However, I disagree with that and the reasons I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children must learn responsibilities when they are young since it is difficult to change behaviours when they are already grown up. I will give an example that illustrates this very well. My cousin John has raised his children in a distinct way. Every time his son Brian and his daughter Mery helped with the chores of the house, they received in return three dollars. They used that payment to purchase toys or magazine of their interest. This experience has taught them the value of money. Nowadays, they are young adults and each of them found lucrative jobs, in which they earn a lot of money. Apart from that, they own a family business which is very successful in Temple City. Their finance knowledge, learned at a young age, have helped them to run their business successfully.

Moreover, California College has done a research about this subject, and it revealed that children who administrate their own money, will earn more money in the future. The study investigated two groups of children. On the one hand, the first group was raised with strict lessons about how meaningful money is and how they should use it wisely. On the other hand, the second group of children only was concentrated in doing the homework. As a result, after fifteen years, adults from the first group earned one million dollars more than the adults from the second group. This clearly shows how important is to teach our children to manage finances.

In conclusion, I believe finances should be taken more seriously since it rules the world. For that reason, people should major the subject, and the best way for that is to learn it at a young age.