TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that advertisements give us the better impression of products than they are in real. Advertisements are divided by three ways such as television, pictures and celebrities. I am supporting my opinion with following passage.

First of all, I state that visual effect on tv appearance is effecting our expectation. For example, the TV commercial about vacuum cleaner has shown us how the product could clean up your room. The company sells the vacuum cleaner would like to tell that how strong it is so items are clean up dirty carpet and pick tons of hair from the flooring. At the same time, the vacuum cleaner was flying in the air because the company tried to let everyone know how light it is. Actually, it is impossible to fly so obviously tv commercial enlarged the possibility of products.

Second, about typical advertisements as pictures with catch copies. I worked on Japanese newspaper company so I created many sentences to express products skills and talented. For instance, there is a brand new game soft and the company would like to advertise as same as one they launched before. Therefore, they used same sentences which are known. If they use specific words to explain that game, people could realize that is related to the old one thus I would think that the better. However, the company do not tell the details of contents because they make people feel more skeptical. In other words, more curious.

Lastly, the company uses celebrities such as models or idols. In my generation, we use Instagram and Blogs so it is really easy to follow and imitate people we like. For example, there are many people considered as influencer so the company give them products for free and the influencers post on their SNS with pictures and reviews. Nowadays, we search the review online before buying stuff to make sure what kind of efficient we could obtain. Moreover, if famous model use the products to get skinny, people believe in as long as the model is in fit. Therefore, I would say that we are effected by the celebrities on advertisements.

All of considered, I think the advertisements make products much better than they really are.