TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

There has been much discussion on the topic of whether for being successful a person should study hard or to be in good relations with people. In my perception, communications and connections with different people bring enormous benefit to the future career. I will explain my point of view by providing several examples.

First of all, people are all around us, and their influence on all aspects of our life is undisputable. By this I mean that attaining and sustaining good connections with people, which are significant in your subject is more valuable than excellent skills in it. For example, my close friend desired to get a job in one pharmaceutical company. She was going through plenty of job interviews. In the end, she didn’t get her desired job, because the assistant, who were inteviewing her was aquentied with another candidate, and this candidate got the job. In the light of the above, I belive that valuable connections are definitely important for you career growth not only because of getting preferences in a job interview, but also expanding your connections by successfully working in the group during the work process or by making agreements with other colleauges for bringing more benefit for you company and your status.

Secondly, expanding you professional communications will possibly influence positively on you career growth. For example, a person who wants to open his own business by getting important communications with some other businessmen can get an advice from them. I don’t want to say that everying in our career is determined by our connections. Otherwise, I suppose that, if you are a polite and smart person, people will prefer to work with you and communicate, for example making business together or promote you at work.

To wrap up, I eager to say that it is important to develop your soft communication skills and to make a good relations with people, which surround you. However, I think that we souldn’t forget about aquiering hard skills for doing our job better and better.