TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

People say that the “A students” are working for the “B students” and the “C students” run the companies. Perhaps this is an extremism, but I think that there is some truth in this adage. Today’s world is much different from what it used to be and I think that in the present is much more valuable to relate well with other people than being a hard-working student.

First, networking nowadays is crucial in order to land a good job. It is not hard to see top students without jobs in the current time, this is because many of them do not have the skills to know new people that could give them a job. Moreover, students today are so competitive that companies are not able to tell apart a good worker from their resume-they all have the same achievements-. It is from my experience that knowing the right people is crucial to have a good job, for instance, when I finished high-school no company would give me a job because I had no resume. However, a friend’s dad gave me a job in their company and I was able to pay for my university studies.

Furthermore, today’s world requires teamwork in order to solve problems rather than an individual. It does not matter what field we are talking about, it can be science or industries, people have to work in groups. For example, on research, we can see a large list of names on a paper, or in Google, a team is assigned to work on a given problem. For the sake of communicating and working well with a group of people, good relationships are crucial, so it is not hard to conclude that the people with good social skills are going to be the most successful.

In conclusion, personally, I think it is increasingly more important to develop social skills in the current market. Accordingly, the prospective worker is better prepared if it posses a good network and works well within a team. So I think the importance of grades is diminishing more and more in actuality.