TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers, like every human being, have the right to have their own political and social inclinations. I agree with the statement that teachers should not make their social or political views known to their students in the classroom. I will explain the reasons for my stance in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, someone once said " Do not give me a fish, but teach me how to fish". In the contemporary world, the role of the teachers should be providing the learners with the necessary skills and techniques of critical thinking. The pupils must learn how to investigate and examine every new aspect in life, they have to establish their own judgement. Having said that, the educators should not influence their students with their personal social or political opinions. If the teacher revealed their own stance about the debatable issues, their views would cloud the judgement of their students about the same topics. Hence, I envision that the teacher must keep their perspective in a grey area as much as possible. That is due to the fact that any learner will be more creative and authentic if not influenced emotionally by their instructor. in a nutshell, a skillful teacher give their students the recipe and ingredients instead of giving them a ready-made meal.

Furthermore, it is completely normal for any individual to change their opinions about many arguments with time due to many factors. These swings between different opinions if revealed to your students could baffle them, moreover it may paint a grim picture about their teacher personality who is not able to adhere to one opinion. As a whole, they could not feel confident about their teacher attitudes anymore. It goes without saying that preserving the right image of a confident knowledgeable teacher is far important than any other factor in the education process. In other words, a discreet teacher would leave a distance between his or her personal opinions and the values he or she teaches in the class.

In conclusion, I do believe that teachers should not make their social or political views known to their students for two reasons, which are, they should not influence their students judgment and risk affecting their image in the eyes of their students.