TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

In recent years, many parents tend to encourage their children to take a part-time job in order to help them to prepare for adult life. In my opinion, I agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First of all, teenagers need to be more independent which is an important characteristic in adult life. If they have the chance to take a part-time job which forces them to accomplish tasks individually. Thus, they can become more independent. For example, when children study in school, they finish a project by a group and even give few contributions to the project. If teenagers are encouraged to take a part-time job by their parents, they are required to deal with the challenges they encounter by their own rather than rely on someone else.

Furthermore, teenagers have to know how to control their money and make good use of it. When they become adult, they have to manage their money to maintain the entire home. As the result, having an experience of part-time job can help them to learn. To be more specific, young students spend money from their parents and have no plan with it. If they need to spend money from their salary, they will be more careful and understand the difficulties of earning money.

Finally, the communication skills are very essential as we are working with a group of people. Taking a part-time job can foster this ability. When children cooperate with others, they have to discuss with them. Thus, if they can gain the ability during they are still students they can do thing efficiently. For instance, people who can negotiate with different departments precisely when they conduct a project in a company have a better chance of success.

In conclusion, in my experience, only thing teenage children can learn in school is the knowledge of subjects, but the knowledge is not enough to support them when they face the challenges in the future. They have to cultivate the required qualities. Thus, I agree with the statement that children should take a part-time job to prepare for adult life.