TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Careers are essential in every adult's life; they could earn money and provide for their family. On the one hand, taking responsibilities seems critical for those who want to be hired and progress in their jobs. On the other hand, it is crucial that kids learn to take their obligations seriously. Thus, parents could help their teenage children prepare for adult life by encouraging them to take part-time jobs. Let me elaborate this with two reasons.

First, kids could find part-time jobs in their summer holidays. Therefore they could take obligations and earn some money meanwhile they're working. For instance, I have been playing guitar since I was a ten-year-old kid. Four years later, I thought about earning some money since I was very good at it. My parents gave me their blessing, and I began to prepare my room for teaching, and I printed some flyers to advertise my class. I was successful since I attracted three students and signed a contract with them. My students were varied in age; I even had a forty-year-old student. When my summer holidays passed, I had been taught my students the basics of playing classical guitar, and they were satisfied with the service I provided, and I earned a good deal of money for a 13-year-old kid. That experience taught me how to take responsibility and appreciate earning money.

Second, parents should encourage their kids in early ages to take part-time jobs. Otherwise it may be too late. For example, I have a cousin who is unemployed at the moment. He is whining about the financial crisis and biased society that wouldn't let many people to find jobs fair and square. He is partially right, but I think another reason for his unemployment is that his parents didn't encourage him to take part-time jobs in his childhood. Thus, now that he is a grown man, it might be a little difficult for him to work for low paid jobs, or any jobs for that matter. I remember my father told me that my grandfather had been sending him to work in construction sites every summer when he was just a kid. That helped him to become completely independent when he had just fourteen years old, and he earned enough amount of money in his 20's that he could easily settle and take a wife, while he had a good job and a house. That's why it is critical for kids to take responsibilities in their early ages.

To summarize, parents could and should encourage their kids and give them their blessing to take part-time jobs in order to prepare them for their future. It would give kids the advantage, and they could excel in their generation. If I ever had kids, I would do that for them too.