TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Adulthood is an important stage of human’s life, which is highly affected by the previous stages of life such as adolescence. Thus, to prepare teenagers for their future role both the parents and the responsible organizations of society have to pay specific attention to these phases of life and do their best to build and improve teenagers’ skills.

One of the advantages of working as a teenager is that in this way not only are teenagers able to increase their experience and gain a wide variety of knowledge related to the job, but they can also build necessary skills and attempt to improve them. One of the skills which is highly nurtured by working outside is group working. Indeed, it is essential for adults to be able to work between themselves and work as a group by taking the responsibility of their own work. A practical example for which group working skill is essential is marital life, which requires the couple to appropriately divide duties between themselves.

In addition, acquiring a job gives teenagers the chance of making money which also has positive effects on their future success in two main ways. First, teenagers that get money from their parents without any effort, tend to be lazier than those who make money by working. Second, the limited amount of money paid to them teaches them to make balance between their expenses and income. As a result, by exercising this manner over and over every month they would definitely be able to do so in their own life, when they become independent from their families.

On the other hand, taking a part-time job parallel to studying adversely affects their academic grades and background. Indeed, when teenagers start to work parallel to studying at school, they have less time to study and have to adjust their time in a way to be able to both work and study; otherwise, they may get low grades at school. Some student take the job as an excuse to their low grades. According to a survey at the University of Tehran, the students’ average grade has shown a significant drop as a result of working besides studying.

In conclusion, I strongly assert that teenagers have to work as they study since the advantage of this view outweigh its mentioned disadvantage. In other words, working and studying at the same time help teenagers build skills which are necessary to be prosperous in future.