TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Every parent in this world wants their children to become a good human being and to be successful in every field of life. There are many ways that parents usually adopt to help their child to learn things that will facilitate them in facing the real challenges of life and to win in every situation like some of them motivate a child to take part time job as they believe that it is beneficial for their bright future. However, many people do not think alike, in my opinion, it is a very good practice and should be followed by all parents.

To begin with, it is essential for a child to be responsible in handling money for his/her good future. Generally, a child is overprotected by parents, as they provide them all the facilities out of love and affection. In addition, they even give a child pocket money to spend according to his/her wish, this practice most of time makes a child careless and extravagant which is not all in favor of his future. On the contrary, when a child does a part time job, he indeed learns the value of money and thus spends it wisely for example my neighbour’s son is nineteen years old college student. He is working in a cafe part time and is bearing the expenses of his study on his own. Although, my neighbour is very rich but still they motivated their child to do a part time job just to make wiser and sincere.

Also, in today’s modern world children are more prone to get distracted from their main aim towards various unnecessary activities such as chatting on social networking sites, playing games on mobile, watching movies etc. It is impossible for a student to study all day long, they will get exhausted and would require some recreational activity that relieves stress. Doing a part time job of one’s own choice is always a fun and a best way to get a break from study. I am able to recall that recently when I visited America I observed that most of the children are doing part time job in their free time and they used to enjoy it because they made new friends at work place and also they were learning a new skill. Hence, it is justified to say that it is great way to indulge a child into doing something constructive and prevent them from getting spoiled.

To recapitulate, I would like to mention that it not only benefits those students whose parents can’t afford the expense of their education but it also contribute in building a strong foundation of those children as well whose parents are extremely rich and are terrified that their son or daughter might get ruin by getting associated with people who do illegal activities like drugs etc.