TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Taking into account the fact that the young people spent most of time on study or work, I agree that some young people nowadays fail to spare enough time for community service.But due to the policy of some high schools and universities that students are required to serve the community, the improved community is attributed to the efforts of some young people.

To begin with, for some university students, the community service gives way to the study.University students have to work hard enough in a bid to guarantee high GPA which would benefit them in the long run if they decide to pursue further education or lucrative career.Take medical students for example. Overwhelmed by subjects ranging from basic biomedical science to molecular immunology, students have to deal with assignments and laboratory reports following the courses. Obviously, they invest more time on solving academic problems than on addressing community issues.

Secondly, for some young employees, community service gives way to the work. On one hand, the work schedule is tight for staffs at their twenties. Chances are high that they are required to work for additional hours partly because young people are at the disposal of the superordinate. On the other hand, some young employees give priority to earning money so as to feed themselves and parents. In this case, the burden of feeding the whole family drives them to be preoccupied with work rather than the community service. As a result, the more time they spend handling the paperwork or answering the telephone at the company, the less time they spend refurbishing the neighbor’s house or clearing up the streets at the community.

However, some young people indeed help their communities because a number of high schools and universities mandate that young undergraduates should be engaged in community service during each winter or summer vacation. In some high schools, for example, one of requirement for receiving a diploma is that students must fulfill two hundred hours of community service. Besides, many colleges make community service an unofficial requirement for admission. For this reason, young people are able to play different roles in building a better community and conferring benefits to residents by writing newsletters, organizing art events or working at local clinics.

To sum up, although I concede that some students are committed to community service due to the policy of the school, there are some factors, I think, holding young people back from devoting sufficient time to helping their communities.