TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Never before in the history has the problem of education been such salient than today that whether parents should offer children money for their grades in recent years. In my opinion, its merits weigh out its drawbacks for the following reasons.

To begin with, children can pay more concentration on study due to the reward of money. Once they get money, there’s no doubt that they will try harder to get more money than the last time which means costing more time on study and reducing the time wasting on watching TV or playing games. And I will take myself as an example. Ten years ago, when I was just a primary school student, my parents cared about my study because I was addicted to playing games. At that time a new Play Station is my dream, however, I didn’t have enough money. Then I was told that if I can get a high grade, they will reward me enough money to buy it. To my parents’ surprise, after that, I paid more time on study and reduced time of playing. What a good idea! This is really good to improve children’s study.

Then, it can effectively improve children’s ability of managing money in a young age. Nowadays, parents need to equip children with some skills and abilities to be prosperous in their future life and career. If a person cannot use money reasonable, he will never feel happy even for a millionaire. But as we can use this way to force them manage their money, it is possible that they can learn how to spend money. Also in the last example, when I finally got the money by three month’s hard work, I thought it was inadvisable that wasting all money for a new one. The better choice for me is to use just half of the price to buy a second-hand and save other money. Without this good idea, I may never have the chance to learn how to use money effectively.

Admittedly, some worries that this method causes some children forget their initial target, thus just caring about money not the study. But this is not a case if we just give them a little. What’s more, too much money for a child who does not have enough power to identify the goods is really dangerous.

In a conclusion, offering money for children’s growth of study can really benefit them in both their study and the ability of controlling money.