TPO 28 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate whether parents today are more involved in their children's education than were on the past. In my humble opinion, I believe that in today's generation parents has no time teaching their children with their studies. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, in this modern era parents attention are focused on creating money for their family. They are too busy with their hectic schedule at work and doesn't have time to teach their children when they are at home. As a result, child often study alone with out the supervisor of adults. Youngsters grades suffer because they don't have the proper guidance from their parents to help them study and finish their assignments. For instance, my sister Jacq works in a big company in Makati City, she has the position of general manager in their institution. My sister don't usually have time for her kids even for bonding and leisure activity because she is too tired to function at home. When Jacq is at home her office usually calls her and she immediately responds with their query because she is the boss in their company, approval and decision making comes thru her and she cannot refuse to help her company because it is her duty. Jacq has no time and luxury to teach my niece with her lessons in school and my niece suffer the most because she keeps on failing on school. It is very depressing to see that this instances are the real reality in our world today. Parents rarely has no time for their children education compared to the past generations.

Secondly, technology nowadays are continually evolving and inventions with educational materials are always available. Hence, because of technology parents rely on this advancement for their child to learn on their own. Computer application like logica which is a program build to help students to learn subjects from math, science and history. Parents are not shy to buy this products for their children to learn. But I think personal teaching is better compared to computer stimulated learning materials, it is because parents will know the weakness of your child and they can help their kid focus on that subject for to understand it much clearly.

To summarize, I believe that parents must focus their time and attention to their children's education. This is because technology and studying alone are not sufficient for them to understand their lessons properly. Kids need additional time and support from their parents for them to excel better in school.