TPO 28, independent

agree or not?

parents today are more involved in their kids' education than were parents in the past.

Success of offspring is the most significant and final wish and redemption of every parents since they always want the best for their children. In this context, there are mutually exclusive ideas regarding whether nowadays, parents help their kids more in comparison with the past. From my point of view, I concur with this notion that they involve in their kids education more right now although the other opinion has more aficionados among adults. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold. In the followoing, the rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that they help them with their assignments and homework which definitely spoil them drastically. Moreover, they force their teachers (even threaten them) to make them improve in their schools. Nonetheless, in the past, there was a completely different scenario that parents, especially in my country, Iran, used to punish their own kids beacuse of their lack of improvement in their studies. To put it into a more vivid picture, my cousin, Ali, is a high school student who is used to running away from school and playing videogames instead of reading his textbooks. His father, Farhad, is supportive and always fights with his principle, Mr Ahmadi. Regardless of forcing his own kid to study harder, Farhad once had a fist fight with him, simply because Ali could not pass his Arabic final exam. So long as parents support their kids in all dimensions, the kids will not be able to become independent and successful.

The second and equally far-reaching explanation to bear in mind is that today's parents tend to spend a lot of money for the development of their childeren which was not a trend in the past, i.e. in my generation. In the past, we could not even dare to ask for a simple pencil eraser; in contrast, the students of this generation (known as Gen-Z) spend a preponderance amount of money on supplement books and fancy stationary stuff. Additionally, their parents spend as much as they can for supplement classes for the big entrance exam in Iran, Konkoor. Comparing with the past, we only had our school books to read for Konkoor, albeit enthusiastically, but students nowadays have at least 3 additional books and booklets for each major without which they cannot even pass their own school quizzes. This amount of support comes from the budget of their parents who beileve their kids are the future Einsteins.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned rationalizations into account, I think parents are helping their kids more in comparison with the past in spite of the fact that there are some exceptions which can be excluded from the general rule. To recapitulate my beliefs, parents not only support their kids and force their teachers (even fight with them) in order to improve them in school but also are used to spending scores of money on luxury stationary products as well as extra classes and books for helping their kids in Konkoor. Providing that this notion continues, it will have negatively affected students by the time they become adults because of being spoiled.