TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education process improved tremendously in the last few decades. Indeed parents nowadays became more involved in the education process of their kids than before. In my opinion, their involvement is very important for many reasons

First of all, without parents help and effort, intellectual and communication skills of young children would be improved. Children usually spend from five to seven hours at school every day, which is not quite enough to develop skills like this. On the other hand, children spend the rest of the days out of school or at home. My experience with my daughter is a compelling example to demonstrate my opinion. My daughter is six years old, and she is going to kindergarten five hours a day, five days a week. Her grades in the first semester were below average, and her teacher told us that she has intellectual problems, and she does not know how to communicate with other kids in the class. Furthermore, she advised us to spend more time at home and explained how to overcome these issues as soon as possible. Me and my wife start to recognize our role towards our daughter, and we put a plane to spend about seven hours each day doing different types of activity like reading books, playing game, having a discussion and helping her to finish her homework. As a result, and in a few months, my daughter immensely improved, and she got high grades in the second semester. Unlike her cousin, who has intellectual problem, and he is not showing any improvement because his parents are too busy to spend time with him. AS you can see, without our help, my daughter would not be able to improve and get high scores.

Second, educational trend has changed worldwide to involve parents more in the education process than before. Parents could introduce and come up with new ideas to increase kid's knowledge, that is why most of schools holding monthly meeting to all parents. For instance, my daughter's school is holding two hours meeting every second Sunday of each month, in addition to flood of text messages and emails on daily base asking for any suggestion or ideas for kids, which never happened for me when I was in the same age. During last meeting, I suggested to take the kids in a trip to the nearest zoo in the area, where they can see all animals in their native environment, which would increase their knowledge. After they came back the kids were so amazed and impressed with what they had seen in the zoo for the first time. This experience taught me that it is very important to involve patents in the education process because they could come up with a new idea to expand kid's knowledge.

In sum, parents are more involved than before with their kids. Not only because they could help their kids to improve can their intellectual and communication skills, but also they come up with a new idea to increase kid’s knowledge.