TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

The average American works five days a week. We are long used to the social norm “eight hours labor, eight hours recreation, eight hours rest.” However, it has little to do with efficiency or productivity. Personally speaking, I prefer working long hours instead of spending time traveling to work on daily basis.

First, working long hours means one can have more time for vacation. For one thing, time professionals spent commuting everyday can be spent with their families, doing exercise routine, or taking care of diet. In this way, when they come back to work, employers will have energetic workers with clear mind, thus boosting their output and profit as a result. If it’s not enough, people who have long time to relax have been proved to be more creative and productive. When Henry Ford in 1914 famously took the radical step of doubling his workers’ pay, and cut shifts in Ford plants from nine hours to eight, he got bitterly criticized by the association of manufacturers. However, when his competitors saw Ford’s business boomed in the next few years, they adopted the same hourly rate. Especially in innovative industries, employees with more spare time always tend to be more creative, for they have more time to reflect on their current works and breed new ideas.

Second, working long hours also means achieve consistency. People cannot guarantee that all ones' works can be finished within eight hours. Here comes the dilemma. One can either working late to finish it, or restart the work next day. Anyone who has been in this situation knows the latter one means spending more time on it and low efficiency, while the first one means, willingly or not, one has to work in unpaid overtime. In this respect, allowing people to arrange their time flexibly is a way to fix this problem. If employees choose to work long hours to finish their work within a day, they should get paid and be allowed to rest in the following day to compensate “off-the-clock” hours.

Admittedly, working long hours can increase health risks and generate more stress. But we are not talking about it as daily routine. We are talking about having this schedule less than half of a week. So by allocating time wisely, in most cases one can avoid those negative impacts and enjoy their lives more.

People take for granted of the eight hour workday, rarely raising questions about the efficiency and the effectiveness as consequences. If professionals are given other options, I believe they will appreciate the shorter week more, and so as for employers.