TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

Nowadays, people do not enjoy what they have in their homes such as a family, a child's smile, or even a dog. This quick world has changed how they live and made them less conscious of the valuable things they have. As far as I am concerned, people in today’s world are less happy than in the past. I cling to this outlook because of two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the world has become more competitive, so people need to keep up with its rhythm and work as much as they can. Now, there are some people who normally work between 16 to 20 hours how do they enjoy their life? What about their families? To clarify my point, let me take myself as an example, a year ago I was studying so hard in order to get a scholarship, I could stay up killing books and practicing exercises. As this test was at a national level all the students in my country needed to take it as well, so it turned in a really competitive situation. After several weeks, I sat the test and got one of the best scores. What I want you to notice from my example is that today, since the younghood or even childhood you should make your best effort if you want to achieve success. Therefore, you cannot enjoy the pleasures of life at all.

Secondly, technology has given us a bunch of new positive and negative things to use, however, how people are using it is damaging relationships and in-person conversations which are valuable characteristics of life. For instance, my cousin likes to be stuck the whole day in his Ipad. I am not of the idea that he does not utilize his tablet for a while, but if he is playing all day on it, there is an actual problem! Instead, he could be doing some exercise, playing any sport, or having a conversation with someone. This shows us how technology has created a virtual world in which there are no more truly smiles, love, or enjoyment as in past times.

To sum up, I strongly believe that today, people are less happy and satisfied than in the past because of competitiveness which is a jail for our real feelings, and because of technology which is a new world where you cannot find anything true.