TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

When it comes to project assignments, most students prefer working alone since their team member may have zero contribution and it seems best for them to work on their own. On the other hand, working with other students actually have much more benefits; thus, co-working outweighs working alone in project assignments.

To begin with, communication skills are significantly required in team work. People have relatively different thoughts and see things through hardly identical ways due to being raised in different families. Thus, communication is exceptionally important while working in the same team for achieving goals. Besides, communication skills are not innate, it is necessary to learn via continuous trials. Through working in the same project, students are able to accumulate skills of communication, which also are crucial in future careers. In my Web Programming course, for instance, our professor asked us to design a website by co-working. He divided the whole class into several groups, each of which contains equal number of engineering students and design-majored students. This division resembles the current working environments where people come from different departments and are manage to work together harmoniously. At first, our team members who came from design department designed a fancy website, which in programming perspective is not possible to design within a tight schedule. Nevertheless, through every discussion and concession, our website was finally in shape before deadline.

Moreover, working with others does have the possibilities to see things in totally different ways. People have different thoughts and have their advantages and drawbacks. Thus, we could learn the way other people think through cooperation. The previous example of my Web Programming class could also help to illustrate this point. Design-majored team members only saw the website in a fancy and superficial way, whereas the engineer-majored students saw it in a more practical point of view. Through discussion, design-majored students learned the practical perspectives of seeing the same thing, and vice versa. Hence, team work benefited us.

Accordingly, teachers believe that cooperating with others is a more effective approach for students’ learning when they assign projects, since they can learn communication skills and different viewpoints.