TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

Technology is changing every day. Means of communication and entertainment are evolving with the introduction of new technologies. Smart phones, social networking sites and video games have already invaded our lives, but the most impact it left is on youth. Educating a child was never an easy task but today it has become extremely challenging. I agree, educating children is more difficult task today due to overexposure to peripheral distractions for few reasons. Teachers, parents need to work extra hard to bring back focus on studies.

First, mobile phones in the classroom creates distraction not only for the child who is using it during the class, but also for the entire class. Children miss important discussions about difficult topics, even fail to note test dates, homework submission dates. While working as high school teacher in my previous job, I have taken away countless number of cell phones from students who ignored "No cell phone in the class" policy. Easy access to cell phones, social networking sites along with video games are one of the root cause of decline in grade levels.

Possession of high end electronic devices and number of friend followers on the social sites has become status symbol. Sometimes age inappropriate information, violence is presented through these sites and games. Children waste time on phones or video games instead of studying or playing any sport. Children face cut throat competition today and are under more stress than ever before. Children are ready to lose their sleeping time to catch up on these activities. Inadequate sleep and irregular sleeping patterns also causing children to lose focus in the class. Obesity, anxiety, depression is on the rise. Exercise helps to lower stress levels. But lack of physical activity giving way to various health issues.

Considering these main reasons, I strongly agree with the fact that it has become challenging to educate children nowadays than in the past. However, I think parents and teachers' role is crucial in advocating children about the proper use of the technologies.