TPO 34 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone online games and social networking Web site Us

In this day and age, a great emphasis has been placed on whether the usage of electronic devices such as cellphones and the time dedicated to online games, surfing the net and social networks has a destructive impact on children. This has triggered so many arguments on the level of their education. From my perspective, if parent are not capable of restricting their children from over using these new technologies, these devices can actually prevent their kids from learning properly and efficiently. I feel this way as all of these technologies can be time consuming and can distract them and prevent them from concentrating on their assignments and studies.

To start, some point out that nowadays children and mostly teenagers dedicate more than 4 hours of a day playing video games, watching videos from Netflix and Youtube and surfing the net on their phones. Therefore, a large scale of the time they could have spent on studying is wasted doing tasks which can have a little or no advantage for them. One of my personal experiences is a compelling illustration of this. During our senior year of highschool we had to study long hours to be prepared for our university entrance exams and I remember so many of student complaining that they could not find sufficient time to study in evening because the spent long hours on their cell phones. Based on this, I strongly believe that these new trends may provide fun activities for spare times but it's too consuming to let students free enough time to study as well.

Furthermore, concentrating on a task demands full attention and focus. It is generally accepted that social media has increasingly absorbed people's attention to itself. This can prevent students from concentrating on what they are studying.For instance, many people check their instagram instantly to see whether a celebrity has posted something or not. Also, as it can be observed in so many schools and universities students are allowed to have their cellphones on them during class time. This they may continuously check their phone or text each other during the time which they should actually listen to their professors and teachers.

However, some people may mention that cellphones can actually be used as a mean of education, providing some visual aid for them during class time. While this is true, I strongly believe that its merits can not overcome its drawbacks and although new technologies has been beneficial for students they have caused them learning difficulties both during school time and when they are studying at home.

To sum up, I generally believe that educating children has become harder and more frustrating as they spend more and more of their time playing games or checking contents on the internet. I feel this way because these activities are too time consuming and may cause difficulty for them to concentrate on what they are trying to learn.