TPO 35 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Celebrities all over the world are one of the most susceptible ones to privacy violations. Their privacy is usually challenged by the press and the fans. To protect celebrity privacy, some governments set up specific laws for protecting them and I totally have a penchant for the idea of setting this policy due to the fact that they deserve to have a private life, as other human beings do. There are many reasons for that, among which the human rights and the opportunity of some people's thriving are the most noticeable ones.

To begin with, it is worth mentioning one of thirty articles of The Universal Declaration of Human rights called "Freedom from interference with privacy, family and home" which is practical for all human kinds, and celebrities are no exception. While everyone should have the right to withhold the information they may be unwilling to disclose to the public, celebrities and public figures usually have to deal with stalking and harassment by the paparazzi who want to make commercial use of their private data, and by the fans who might sometimes commit serious offenses such as breaking into their houses and injuring celebrities and even their families. Celebrities are just normal people who try to motivate and entertain people in varied ways, and letting them live in peace is the easiest thing that the whole society can do to show their gratitude toward them.

Secondly, there are many talented people, having inherent abilities in varied realms such as sports, theater, and public speaking all of which resulted in one's getting famous when he or she reaches the zenith of it. Many of these talented people may be afraid of the subsequent risks of getting famous which could affect their lives and their families'. Therefore, they will not thrive in their career and probably cannot be the best version of themselves in the shadow of fear. However, since many people, especially teenagers, take celebrities their primary role models, some disclosed information on private aspects of celebrities' lives can prevent the fans from developing unrealistic viewpoints of these role models which sometimes can be bad influences. Nevertheless, these merits do not outweigh the above demerits of harassing public figures' privacy.

To sum up, celebrities, in all fields of activity from art to sport, should have the right to have a private life and it is up to the people and the media to understand this human right and respect their privacy, and by doing so provide a more decent environment for celebrities to prosper and flourish.