TPO 35 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The right to privacy is one of the pillars of democracy along with the principle of rule of law, freedom of expression, the right to peaceful assembly, and so on. Therefore, it should be guaranteed to everyone in a democratic society irrespective of his or her occupation. In this regard, I am prone to believe that famous people are not fully protected from the interference to their private and family lives. I hold this opinion since they are constantly at the center of the public attention; they are deprived of the possibility to sue entities or people who violate their privacy; and they often quit their jobs to live an ordinary life.

To begin with, the media is a nightmare for celebrities since it follows their each step. Generally, all the actions and thoughts of entertainers and athletes are being publicized by the media regardless of the fact whether those events are related to their professional career /, /or not. Public is aware of all the details of the private life of stars from what a person likes to drink in the evenings to what color is preferred by the celebrity. For example, the headings of the major newspapers in my country practically always contain something sensational about actors beloved by the society. Furthermore, often photos taken during private events with the participation of celebrities appear on the front pages of magazines. So, the overwhelming attention toward celebrities is an undeniable fact.

Additionally, the fame often rules out the possibility to initiate legal proceedings to protect the privacy of well-known people. This is explained by the fact that society does not approve the legal actions of well-known people to secure their privacy due to various reasons. Most important, ordinary people think that celebrities should be available to public whenever and wherever they like, and, therefore, in their opinion famous people should not have privacy. For instance, a friend of mine is a TV show star and is well-known in my country as one of the most talented entertainers ever. Once he decided to sue the reporter who managed to take photos of my friend’s private meeting with his parents and published them. After he referred to the legal mechanisms of protection of his rights everyone started to criticize him for his actions. As a result, the entertainer had to give up his intention. Thus, although the famous people have the possibility to protect their privacy, the society does not respect this right.

Finally, an indication of the violating of the rights of celebrities is the fact that they often quit their jobs to live an ordinary life. This is due to the natural expectation of every person to have some space of privacy which should be respected. For example, the person who I mentioned in the previous paragraph quitted his job and is on the /his / way to become a lawyer. To be sincere, he seems to be happier now when no reporter disturbs him.

To sum up briefly, there are a lot of advantages of being a famous person. However, it is fact that their right to privacy is being violated everywhere since people want to know everything about them, they are not always able to guarantee their rights and often quit their professions to become ordinary people.