TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

All parents want to instill good virtues in their children and in order to do so they adopt various practices. But these practices may vary from person to person, some people may believe in giving money as a reward to encourage them. However, others might not concur with this notion because they think that it might spoil a child. In my opinion, I strongly oppose this idea of giving money to a child for each high grade for the following reasons.

First, school going age is a very delicate age where children are prone to get ruin easily by several factors. In modern world, there are many facilities that are available to most of the children by their parents such as TV, Mobile phones, Computer, Internet etc to help them in building a good future and also to enjoy life to the fullest. All these things can be a boon to the young generation, if they are taught to use them wisely. However, when children have unlimited pocket money, it is seen that they generally misuse it for example my friend’s daughter is fifteen yrs old and she was given a lot of money as a reward for her good grades. But soon my friend observed that she began to invest that cash on watching movies and going to club with her friends. Eventually, it affected her grades and she failed in final exams. Hence, I realized that it is not wise to give cash to children as they don’t have discernment to spend it wisely.

Second, real life is full of challenges and unexpected situations where anything can happen any time. During childhood parents do not comprehend this fact that they will not be able to support their children always and if a child does not learn to stand on his/her own feet then it would be quite difficult to survive. In real life, it is not necessary that one will always get reward for good work, there is tough competition and mean politics out there, people are ready to put their peers down to get success. Therefore, if parents will teach their child that they will always be rewarded then they are destroying his/her future indeed. I can recall when I was in Medicine school, I came first in the class but none of my peers or teachers rewarded me. This made me frustrated and I could no longer focus on my studies. Later, I realized my mistake and I changed my habit which in fact helped me throughout my career.