TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The most effective strategy used by parents to encourage their children is rewarding them for their achievements, support them when they fail and punish them when they have a wrong behavior. There is not a universal reward nor there a unique punishment, the right option is upon both on parents and children characters. Personally, I believe that money as long as it is used to buy good things are the best way to reward children for their achievements in school. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, money is the best reward because they can be turned into any kind of thing, in this way a child must think about what to buy or maybe he or she can decide to save the money to buy something more valuable in the future. My own experience is a compelling example of this, when I was at primary school I remember that I was very motivated to get high marks because my parents would have rewarded me with a little of money. What I really desired was a new bike. It was too expensive to buy it with just one reward, though! Then I decided to save the money until I got the right amount to buy a new bike, it took me an entire school year, in this way my parents taught me not just to be motivated in getting high marks, but also the constancy in what I was studying.

Secondly, managing money and decide what to buy with it is a very effective way to learn the value of it, which is a new skill for a child. Usually, Children receive what they need and what they want from their parents and most of the time they do not know how many sacrifices their parents did to get what they desired or needed. Managing money helps children to learn to the adult world and be more aware of where all the tangible and intangible things they have are coming from. For instance, when finally I reached the amount of money needed to buy a bike, I choose the cheapest one, because I wanted to save some money to buy a new pencil case and a diary, what I learned was to use my money in an efficient way.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should reward their children for their achievement at school with money, as long as they teach them how to use it and support them to spend that money for good thing. This is a good way to motivate children to work hard in school and at the same time, they can learn the important skill of managing money, preparing them for the future.