TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, parents wish their children to reach the zenith of the education and have a better future, so they try to provide the best condition for them to have a better school performance. Their marks are the best measure of their function in school, and all parents try to encourage their children to get higher marks. There are many controversial debates about what is the best method for motivating students to study hard and getting high grades. While some people claim that giving money is an effective way for this purpose, the others hold the opposite view. To my way of thinking, this method is not a good idea because not only so irresponsible become the children, but also after a while, they will not be motivated by the money anymore.

The first reason should be stated here is that studying is the only duty of school-age children and if the parents offer money to them, the school-age adolescent will think studying is a gift to their parents. In this way, they could not understand their responsibilities in the life and without getting money, they would not undertake even tiny tasks. For instance, my cousin is a very clever person but when he was a child, his mother proposed him money for each high grade in school, before this offer he had got good grades but he was not the best in his class. After my aunt's offer, he started studying very hard that changed him to a hard-worker student and he got top marks in all his courses. With that being said, next semester her mother took her suggestion back. He, who studied just for money, did not study anymore and he failed all his courses. When his mother asked him why did not you study enough, he answered there is no difference between high and low grades, because both of them are free!

The other point worth discussing here is that after a while money cannot encourage the teenagers to study hard. It is a proven fact that even the rich children are not successful in their schools and universities, because they think why should I study while I have a plethora of money. If the parents offer their children money for the high grades, they will become indifferent after some while and they think they have enough money. The most noticeable output is that money which should be gained by working is obtained by doing what they have to do as their duty, so they would not understand it's value. To exemplify, When I was a child in the school, I wanted a Sony PlayStation, I asked my parents to buy it for me if I could get complete marks in all my courses; however, they refuted my propose and told me to study hard to get a good job and buy whatever you want for yourself. This sentence made me a powerful person and I have been trying to work hard. I have changed because of that reputation.

To put all in one, offering money for high grades has decreased the value of studying for children and makes them irresponsible and will destroy their motivation in the long run.