TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether our society respect and appreciate teacher or not, is a controversial debate. However in my country, teachers in the past are much more respected than in current days.

To begin with, people could hardly be educated in the past. First, only aristocracy could be educated since they did not need to work for living, millions of subordinates work for them via agriculture or special skilled, such as craftsmen or artists. Then only some ordinary males could be educated, females were still not eligible for education. At that time, teachers were scarce and respected since most people were not capable of reading, and they appreciated those teachers for teaching them knowledge. Eventually, all human beings with equal rights for education could go to school. By the time, teachers were still respectable due to lack of teacher but abundant students. With fewer teachers teach their students, most students see their teachers as hero and they all appreciated for this opportunities for learning. Therefore, teachers were valued and respected in the past. However, government established more and more schools on every region and trained sufficient teachers for teaching, the value of teacher became worthless gradually.

Moreover, few people were qualified for teacher training. There were few teacher training programs or schools in the past. With low educated rate and difficult qualified tests, the competition was really harsh. Hence, few people could be able to pass the test and became qualified teachers. Those qualified teachers were respected at that time. Nevertheless, government started to establish more teacher training school, and modified the qualified test as even easier than before. Thus, more and more teacher appears, and more teachers devalue them.

Finally, teacher’s salaries respond to its respect by society. Based on the annual decrease of teacher’s salaries, teachers are gradually not valued since other careers makes considerable profits than being a teacher. Take my parents for example, my mother taught for 40 years, and she said that our government removes teaching budgets year by year. Therefore, her salaries diminish accordingly. However, our government starts to put emphasis on engineering field. And my father is an engineer with the annual increased budgets by our government. With the financial support, his company enters to its peak and my father also got promotion for lifting his revenues. Based on the salary of every career, we know our society gradually regard teachers as not valuable.

Consequently, teachers nowadays are less appreciated and less valued by society than they were in the past.