TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, with the development of the society, human keep making progress in the educational area. However, at the same time, many people think that teachers were less appreciated and valued by the society than before. For me, I have the agreement with another group of people which consider that teachers today receive higher recognition.

To begin with, teachers today not only teach students the academic knowledge anymore, they also help the students to establish correct values. For example, the amount of the school regulations today is far more than before, except ruling the students to be good learners and focus on their school work, it also stipulates the students’ behavior, like don’t dress bizarrely, don’t talk rudely to each other and so on. These rules prove that the teachers are becoming more and more influential, they also affect their students’ view of life. All of these means they are more appreciated and valued by the society than in the past.

In addition, the levels of present teachers are much higher than before. Now, most of the teachers are also have educated by higher education. So they have more sophisticated levels of expertise. And they also have been trained to be good teachers by some teacher-training colleges. Moreover, they are more knowledgeable and their information is more accurate. Because in the past, many theories didn’t be demonstrated, even some were wrong, but now, after the researches of many scientists and professors, many theories have been proved. So the present teachers know the same knowledge as the teachers in the past, and they also know many new things, which make them become more valuable.

The last reason is, most of the parents today are also have been inculcated by the higher education. Previously, adults who didn’t get educated didn’t know they need to respect their teachers, so they never asked their kids to do it. Nonetheless, present parents know how good it is to respect the teachers, as a result, parents told their children to do it since they were very young. Respecting teachers have already been a constant quality which passes from one generation to the next.

In conclusion, if we think twice about this statement, it’s obvious that teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society nowadays than they are in the past.