TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers play an important role in every society. Economic development of a country depends on the performance of teachers and how they educate the future workforce. Although some people maintain that teachers are still valued and appreciated by society, there are others who believe that teachers’ prestige has been declined in recent years. From my point of view, people do not appreciate teachers as they had in the past because not only does the level of literacy in societies have improved, but also the number of teachers has rapidly increased in the past decades which caused a change in government policies.

First of all, countries have invested heavily in enhancing the percentage of literate people for decades to improve their workforce quality. This investment has caused rapid growth in the number of people who have graduated from schools. In the past, families were mostly illiterate and as teachers were sometimes one of the few literate peoples in a community, they were highly appreciated by others. However, these days most of the families are not only literate but also have university certificates. This has caused a change in the game and people do not look up to teachers anymore.

The other reason which could be mentioned here is the importance of school level education for governments. Plans to enhance workforce literacy have succeeded in recent decades, thus most countries are currently focusing on universities rather than schools. This change in goals also caused a relative decrease in school budgets. While university professors are being paid much more due to the importance of university education, teachers salary may seem somehow less.

To summarize, we have to accept that teachers are not being appreciated in societies as they used to. Change in countries’ priorities and also increase in the number of educated people in a society are two reasons for this decline in teachers’ appreciation. However, a new trend is being formed in some developed countries which focus more on teachers to renovate the education system based on high technologies. This trend might bring some hopes to enhance teacher prestige in societies once more in the upcoming decades.